International Association of Fire Chiefs Foundation Home Page
About Us Scholarship Training Sponsorship Donate Merchandise


IAFC Foundation Scholarships

The IAFC Foundation recognizes the increasingly complex world first responders operate in. Science, technology, communications and policy are constantly and rapidly changing and evolving. It's critical that our nation's first responders master the challenges of today and tomorrow. The IAFC Foundation helps ensure that our men and women are fully prepared to meet these challenges by providing increased opportunities to support their educational needs.


Several scholarship programs are offered by the IAFC Foundation. See details below on the various programs:


Check back soon for the application


Chief Charles A. "Chet" Henry Memorial Scholarship Award

This annual scholarship award, made possible by a generous donation from VFIS, a Division of Glatfelter Insurance Group, was established in November 2011 to honor Chief Henry who died on June 25, 2011 after a long period of declining health.  Chief Henry led a life that epitomized his commitment to public service. He began his career with the fire service in 1963 where he actively served his community for more than two decades.

Garry L. Briese Scholarship Award
The Garry L Briese Scholarship Fund, established in 2007 with generous support from the Motorola Solutions Foundation, is generally reserved for a company officer, especially targeting a Driver/Engineer and/or a Lieutenant, for his/her professional education toward AA/AS or BA/BS degree.

The Heather Westphal Memorial Scholarship Award
This recently created memorial fund was established in honor of the former IAFC Membership Marketing Manager who died in a tragic accident in October 2008 and specifically benefits female first responders. This fund was established with support from IAFC and The International Association of Women in Fire and Emergency Services.

IAFC Federal Military Section Award
One or more scholarship(s) will be awarded to an applicant who is an IAFC Federal Military Section Member or who works in a federal military department. The IAFC Federal Military Section is selling a coin, with proceeds to benefit the IAFC Foundation. Click here for more information.

John M. Buckman, III Award
A scholarship award will be given each year in Chief Buckman’s honor at the discretion of the IAFC Foundation Selection Committee. This scholarship award is generally reserved for a volunteer who is working toward his/her AA/AS or BA/BS degree in a fire science program.

Fire Explorers
The IAFC Foundation offers educational scholarships to Fire Explorers. Fire Service Exploring is a worksite-based program for young men and women ages 14 (and have completed the eighth grade) to 20 years of age.

For more information about the Fire Explorers program, click here.

Check back soon for the application


Support Educational Scholarships for First Responders
These educational scholarship awards are made possible with support from thoughtful individuals, companies and foundations. Now is your chance to give back to the fire service and to support our future leaders. Donations to the IAFC Foundation are tax-deductible.

Click here to donate, sponsor or endow a scholarship.




Scholarship Winners


2016 Scholarship Winners


2015 Scholarship Winners

2014 Scholarship Winners

2013 Scholarship Winners

2012 Scholarship Winners

2011 Scholarship Winners

2010 Scholarship Winners


Scholarship News


2016 Scholarship winners' photos and remarks.

2015 Scholarship winners' photos and remarks.


View an IAFC-TV interview with COLS winner, David Emanuel.


IAFC Foundation receives grant as part of the Motorola Solutions Foundation's Public Safety and Security Institute. Read the release.

-The Chief Charles A. Chet Henry Memorial Scholarship Fund recently established. Read the release.